Event Details


Tuesday 25 April 2023
Royal Albert Hall, London, 19:30 

Brahms Academic Festival Overture, Op. 80
Brahms Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 77
Brahms Concerto for Violin and Cello in A minor, Op. 102
Sarasate Navarra, Op. 33*

Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra

Marios Papadopoulos conductor

Maxim Vengerov violin
Sandra Lied Haga cello

A fitting programme of Brahms fills this celebration of virtuosity at the iconic Royal Albert Hall in London.

Maxim Vengerov, Marios Papadopoulos and the Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra are joined by Sandra Lied Haga for Brahms’s double concerto for violin and cello, a score that is characterised by its delicate nobility. Before that we hear the composer’s infamous Academic Festival Overture and soaring Violin Concerto, and finally Pablo de Sarasate’s firecracker for two violins, joined by the stars of tomorrow.

* with violinists from the Royal College of Music

Booking. If you wish to attend this wonderful concert, please book your tickets through the Royal Albert Hall’s website: https://www.royalalberthall.com/tickets/events/2023/maxim-vengerov/